How to illustrate in your journal bible; My cup overflows. 

Standard
How to illustrate in your journal bible; My cup overflows. 

 

 

 

 

My cup overflows. Surely goodness will follow me all the days of my life.

Psalm 23:5,6

Bible journaling is a worship experience and time spent with The Father. It’s important to see it as more than just an art project but as another form of worship. God created us to each have our own talents, those talents might include singing, drawing, encouraging others, a teacher, or a doctor to give a few examples. Being able to draw is a talent and sharing this time with your Heavenly Father is precious to Him. Sharing it with others blesses God as you encourage others to worship God through your art. I will share a written step by step tutorial of my worship bible journaling of verse Psalm 23:5,6.  I love coffee and how perfect for my coffee to overflow representing my spirit full and overflowing with joy and all good things provided by the Father.

 STEP BY STEP

  1. Begin by choosing your favorite worship music. I personally love Hillsong United. I also enjoy Jason Upton or Klove if you can’t choose. It’s important to listen to worship music and invite the Holy Spirit to be in your presence. You may ask why this step is important. Have you ever noticed whenever the bible speaks of beings, people, or angels being in Gods presence they are worshiping Him singing praise music? Each Sunday worship through music is a huge part of the church service. It’s important to do this step because we are worshiping God and music is  beautiful and brings joy in the atmosphere. 
  2. The next step is reading your bible and listening for Him to speak to your heart. This part is very important because if you are a visual person this is when you will visualize your worship inspired journaling art. Most artists are visual. 
  3. Generally, while reading my bible I take notes because I  a note taker and I love to journal. I love to return to my notes later and see how God has spoken to my heart and answered prayers. I also keep a date on the top of each journal entry. Not every person journals. This is something I enjoy doing. If you enjoy journaling this part is always fun especially when you reflect back on answered prayers and time you spent with God. Below is a picture of my bible/prayer journal. Just to give you an idea of what I use. I intentionally blurred the pages because the notes and prayers are personal :). 
  4. After I have a visual idea for what I want to journal and which verse or verses stand out I start by drawing a rough sketch of my worship art in my journal bible. I have several bibles but my favorite bibles to use include my study bible for reading and my journal bible for bible journaling entries. 
  5. The next step is adding color. This is not about perfection by any means. Ever person has their own style of art. You may choose colored pencils, crayons, oils, chalk, pen and ink, or water color. It’s simply a matter of personal preference. I choose to use whatever inspires my art each time I journal. Sometimes I include them all and made a mixed media page. This particular time I enjoyed using water color and pen and ink. 
  6. After the paint dried I used pen and ink to outline my work. I also used pen and ink to write the bible verses.
  7. To finish my journal entry sometimes I add a page tab and sometimes I add fun embellishments. Some embellishments might include fun flip tabs with notes, washi tape, stickers, or fun quotes I’ve purchased from a hobby store or online. Today I added a #heidiswapp embellishment as my tab to add a bit of fun to my page. It didn’t include words just a simple black and pink dotted square tag. Pictures below are a few embellishments to give an example of some you might use if you like using embellishments. 
  8. After finished, and if it’s necessary I may choose to use a gloss enamel clear coat finish to protect the pages. This is especially important if you use oil pastels or chalk to add color to your pages. This particular time that was not needed because the pages are not in danger of smearing or rubbing off on each other. You can pick this up at any hobby store or wal mart in the spray paint section.  
One response »

Leave a Reply

